Suicide seemed like a good way

Im New York Magazine schildert Derek de Koff seine Erfahrung bei der Raucherentwöhnung mit Champix® (in den USA Chantix®).

By night four, my dreams began to take on characteristics of a David Cronenberg movie. Every time I’d drift off, I’d dream that an invisible, malevolent entity was emanating from my air conditioner, which seemed to be rattling even more than usual. I’d nap for twenty minutes or so before bolting awake with an involuntary gasp. I had the uneasy sense that I wasn’t alone.
...
A week into my Chantix usage, I started to feel as if the city landscape had imperceptibly shifted around me. Mundane details began to strike me as having deep, hidden significance. The neon arch above McDonald’s: The lights blinked on and off in some sort of pattern, and I needed to crack the code.
...
One afternoon, I was typing away at advertising copy, and as I did so, I began to wonder how I had succeeded in fooling myself that my life had any sort of value at all. Writing? Sure, it was what I’d wanted to do since I was 6—but at the end of the day, who cared? Maybe I should just go downstairs and leap in front of a tour bus.
...
Meanwhile, the room seemed to be pulsing and reverberating around me, and my eye would keep zeroing in on objects—the television, the AC, a pair of shoes—and feel as though they were somehow buzzing with life and gleefully watching me endure the biggest meltdown I’d ever had. I had somehow ruined myself, and suicide seemed like a good way to avoid the embarrassment of this fact’s being exposed.

 
[Champix]
Autor: strappato   2008-02-14   Link   (3 KommentareIhr Kommentar  


hockeystick   2008-02-14  
I “knew” I could fly
I had serious rage issues and VERY serious hallucinations while taking it. On the 15 day I woke up on my balcony at 2 a.m. My first thought was “what am I doing out here?” my second was “Oh yes, I was going to go flying over the river because it’s such a nice mild evening”. My third as I put my foot on the railing was a terrified “I am not a bird! I can’t fly!!!”

Thank the stars I woke up. I “knew” I could fly –until I woke up.

I stopped taking them immediately. A report was filed with my physician and with the pharmacy and Pfizer. I have a lovely letter from the company stating that “Pfizer has never claimed that it’s medications are risk free.”

(Quelle)


strappato   2008-02-14  
Alles nur die üblichen Symptome bei Nikotinentzug:
Auch die deutsche Fachinformation enthält den Hinweis, dass eine Nikotinentwöhnung - mit und ohne Arznei - oft mit depressiven Verstimmungen und der Verschlechterung psychischer Grunderkrankungen assoziiert ist.
Ärzte Zeitung.


hockeystick   2008-02-14  
Wie die FDA berichtet, wurden in der Postmarketing-Phase bei Vareniclin-Patienten Verhaltensänderungen, Erregungszustände und depressive Verstimmungen bis zu Suizidgedanken gemeldet.
Wenn ich mich recht erinnere, war von Suiziden die Rede.








Stationäre Aufnahme












Letzte Beiträge und Kommentare /  Frohe Weihnachten  (strappato)  /  OH!!!  (kelef)  /  Frohe Weihnachten  (strappato)  /  Subjektive Wahrnehmung  (casadelmar)  /  Sehr interessante Sichtweise,...  (akademischer ghostwriter)  
Zum Kommentieren bitte einloggen

Metainfos über das blog. Kontakt: strappato.

search noeszett Add to Technorati Favorites rss